Ch 9 Intelligence – Option 1

Intelligence can be defined as the information retained and then applied to the individuals life to make it better. For example, learning calculus and then going on to become an engineer. For me, classes were best taught when the teachers were fun, upbeat, joking, and making the learning enjoyable. Much of what some of those teachers taught me, I can’t recall now. So does that mean I am not intelligent? No because we all are in our special ways. I may not recall the material from the course, but I remember the life lessons they wove between the lines and those I can apply to my every day life. My favorite teacher of all, Miss. McCarthy, taught me the most of any one and she was the teacher of Publications (yearbook, and newspaper). She is always full of positivity and would always have the best advice ready for anyone that would need it. She taught me: how to be brave when traveling, she showed me she’s always there and I’ll never be alone, how to utilize my creativity regardless of the situation, not to hate discourage my sometimes crazy imaginative thoughts, how to be strong, to enjoy the sunshine, and so so so much more.

All schools need educators like her that go out of their way to teach not what the book says, but also valuable survival lessons. Educators can get creative in the way they present the required material and shape it that the students learn a valuable life lesson from it. For example, I never flew in an airplane before that instant and I have to admit I was a bit nervous. I was 16 and yes I did have a few friends on the trip with me, but not my close circle and no family was going. At that time, I never left the East Coast so I was nervous about many things, but also excited. We were seated on the plane alphabetically, which thankfully put Miss. McCarthy beside me. She could sense I was afraid, so she turned it into a joke and was telling me how it was like a roller coaster and she added sound effects. We were laughing and I relaxed. She talked to me like a mother with a child walking them through something. I really liked take off and she knew my mind was eased. From that I gathered how to be bold with traveling, especially now that I know what to expect. She understood I needed to hear everything would be fine, and provided that. Educators would benefit if they knew how to read their students without a word spoken and creatively teach them, it’s okay. From there intelligence will gradually grown within the individual and they will continue to grow from the life lessons first taught to them through their educators at school.

Leave a comment